How it all began
The Metropolitan began life as Brisbane’s very first “Motor Inn” in the early 1950’s. It’s fitting with one of the city’s longest histories as a Brisbane accommodation venue, we are nestled on the edge of one of Brisbane’s oldest and most historic precincts, Spring Hill.
Our own piece of history
We began as Brisbane’s first Motor Inn.
1953 – 2016
Continually serving travellers and tourists as the Metropolitan Motor Inn.
2016 – 2018
New owners transform our special property into “The Metropolitan”, locating the amazing Restaurant Indriya onsite, and completing an extensive refurbishment, including a new reception area and addition of the street side eatery “Indi”.
Spring Hill’s history
Spring Hill gained its name from its creek that provided Brisbane’s first fresh water supply in the nineteenth century.
As one of Brisbane’s oldest residential neighbourhoods, Spring Hill still has many houses dating back to the nineteenth century. Many of the older residences have been demolished to make way for new developments so close to the city centre, but there are still many nooks and crannies in Spring Hill where you feel transported back in time.
In the early 1900’s there was a tram service running from the city to Spring Hill, traversing the steepest tram track incline in Australia at the time – this evolved over time into a trolley bus then diesel bus service. Up until 1969, trams continued to run along Boundary street and St.Paul’s Terrace in Spring Hill. In our now modern day, Spring Hill is well-serviced by the Brisbane City Council’s bus network.
A somewhat sombre attraction, an historical marker appears for the first case of bubonic plague which struck Spring Hill in May 1900.
“Saunter Through Spring Hill” Heritage Trail map and table
Source: Brisbane City Council
The Heritage Trail Map & Table offered by Brisbane City Council outlines 21 points of interest along the 3.2 kilometre Saunter Through Spring Hill Heritage Trail.
The trail begins at the Lady Bowen Hospital on Wickham Terrace, then proceeds down to Boundary Street and along picturesque Fortescue Street. It winds down the hill to Water Street and up to Rogers Street. After passing the impressive Villa Maria Hostel, the trail travels into historic Gloucester Street and ends at the Alliance Hotel on the corner of Leichhardt and Boundary Streets.
For more information about each point of interest, download the Saunter Through Spring Hill Heritage Trail brochure in your preferred format. The brochure map includes additional information such as the location of public transport, public toilets and access for people with limited mobility. Some sections of this trail are steep and may not be accessible for people with limited mobility.
Look after your mum!
The humble little abode situated at 116 Isaac Street Spring Hill, known as Mrs Long’s Cottage, was built in 1884 for Mrs Elizabeth Long by her son Thomas. Mrs Long had been deserted by her husband, leaving her with nothing. In the days prior to social security and government support, Mrs Long would have been facing left completely high and dry. The size of the cottage and its tiny plot of land (101 m2) demonstrate Spring Hill’s crowded conditions in the late 1800s. Our little suburb has always been popular, for good reason!